The Team

Numerous distinguished Canadians have contributed to the development and evolution of the Action Canada fellowship. The program’s excellent reputation and the outstanding calibre of the Action Canada Fellows’ network is, in large measure, thanks to them and their commitment to nurture the nation’s future leadership. Many of these individuals are noted in past reports located in our Archives. Currently they include:

Board of Directors

Adam Goldenberg, Chair; Associate, McCarthy Tétrault LLP, Action Canada Fellow ’10

Steve Kuhn, Secretary; Chief, International Finance,
Department of Finance Canada, Action Canada Fellow ‘12

Annie Sabourin, Treasurer; Vice-rectorate for Academic Development and Institutional Transformation, Université de Montréal, Action Canada Fellow ’12

Jaimie Boyd, Senior Policy Analyst, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat, Government of Canada, Action Canada Fellow ‘13

Aisha Bukhari, Entrepreneur, Action Canada Fellow ‘15

Sara-Christine Gemson, Director of Communications, Teach For Canada, Action Canada Fellow ‘15

Rick Nielsen, Chief Operating Officer
Air North, Yukon’s Airline, Action Canada Fellow ’06

Advisory Council

Cathy Beehan, Action Canada Founding Chief Executive Officer Emerita
Lisa Belzberg, Founder and Chair Emerita, PENCIL
Ann Cowan, former Executive Director, Simon Fraser University


Christine Carrillo, Director of Administration

2015/16 Program Advisors

Andrew Cohen, Professor, Carleton University
Eva Czigler, Former Senior Director, CBC Television
Bob Foulkes, Communication Consultant
Rae Hull, Principal, Rae Hull Media
André Juneau, Federal Deputy Minister (retired)
Jim Mitchell, Founding Partner, Sussex Circle
Andrea Rose, Professor, Memorial University of Newfoundland
Malcolm Rowe, Justice, Court of Appeal, Newfoundland and Labrador
Janet Smith, Federal Deputy Minister (retired)

Past contributors

We wish to thank the many distinguished people who have contributed to making Action Canada the exceptional program that it is.

Sam Belzberg, O.C., O.B.C., president and CEO of Gibralt Capital Corp., Action Canada Founder Emeritus
David Aisenstat, President and CEO, The Keg Steakhouse and Bar
Fran Belzberg, CM
Marc de La Bruyère, Principal and Chairman, Maclab Enterprises
Richard Dicerni, Deputy Minister, Alberta Executive Council, Head of the Alberta Public Service
Clay Horner, Chair, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
Stella Ablett
Helen Augustin
Elodie Jacquet